An official website of the United States government

Attorneys in Japan

Please note: The Department of State assumes no responsibility or liability for the professional ability or reputation of, or the quality of services provided by, the entities or individuals whose names appear on the following lists. Inclusion on this list is in no way an endorsement by the Department or the U.S. government. Names are listed alphabetically, and the order in which they appear has no other significance. The information on the list is provided directly by the local service providers; the Department is not in a position to vouch for such information.

Legal Support

Houterasu (The Japan Legal Support Center)
A nationwide legal support center which helps callers locate professional support in civil and criminal matters. Call Center: 0570-078377.

List of Attorneys by District

Aichi Akita Aomori Chiba Ehime
Fukui Fukuoka Fukushima Gifu Gunma
Hiroshima Hokkaido Hyogo Ibaraki Ishikawa
Iwate Kagawa Kagoshima Kanagawa Kochi
Kumamoto Kyoto Mie Miyagi Miyazaki
Nagano Nagoya Naha Nagasaki Nara
Niigata Oita Okayama Okinawa Osaka
Saga Saitama Sapporo Shiga Shimane
Shizuoka Tochigi Tokushima Tokyo Tottori
Toyama Wakayama Yamagata Yamaguchi Yamanashi

The above-listed prefectures fall into the following U.S. Consular Districts:

Tokyo Consular District:
Chiba, Fukushima, Gunma, Ibaraki, Kanagawa, Nagano, Niigata, Saitama, Shizuoka, Tochigi, Tokyo, Yamagata, Yamanashi.

Osaka-Kobe Consular District:
Aichi, Ehime, Fukui, Gifu, Hiroshima, Hyogo, Ishikawa, Kagawa, Kochi, Kyoto, Mie, Nara, Okayama, Osaka, Shimane, Shiga, Tokushima, Tottori, Toyama, Wakayama.

Naha Consular District:
Okinawa, the Amami Oshima Island group, parts of Kagoshima Prefecture.

Sapporo Consular District:
Akita, Aomori, Hokkaido, Iwate and Miyagi.

Fukuoka Consular District:
Fukuoka, Kagoshima, Kumamoto, Miyazaki, Nagasaki, Oita, Saga and Yamaguchi.

Nagoya Consular District:
Aichi, Gifu and Mie.